Ohio law requires that children under 8 years old must be properly restrained in a booster seat or other appropriate car seat unless they are 4 foot 9 inches or taller.
- Infants must be in rear-facing seats until age 1 year and 20 pounds. (However, the American Academy of Pediatrics encourages parents to keep children in rear-facing seats until age 2.)
- Children must be in forward-facing car seats until age 4 and 40 pounds.
- Children must remain in booster seats until age 8 years of age or 4 feet 9 inches tall.
- Children ages 8 to 15 year old must use a child safety seat or seat belt.
Fines will range from a minimum of $25 to a maximum of $75 per occurrence. A booster seat can be purchased for as little at $15. Keep your child safe. Be sure to follow your seat manufacturer’s specific instructions for weight limits and proper use. Don’t wait for a ticket!
More information can be found on the Ohio Department of Health website.